K-6 Utah Charter School

A free public K-6 charter school located in East Salt Lake City.

School Land Trust

School Land Trust Funding and Canyon Rim Academy

School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration (SITLA) manages school trust lands to generate revenue for schools. In 2015 they generated $98.5 million for public schools. Those funds were deposited into the permanent State School Fund to generate revenue for Utah school children every year into the future.

Every school receives School LAND Trust Program funding through a student enrollment based funding formula described in the law. The annual interest and dividend income from investment of the permanent State School Fund is where the annual allocation comes from. The funds flow through the school district, but districts do not withhold any funds. Charter school funds are sent to directly to the school.

Canyon Rim Academy 2014-15 Funding = $32,715.00

$19,993 was used to purchase 55 laptops and necessary accessories for Kindergarten – third grade classes.Each K-3 classroom has 5 laptops for students to practice reading in centers and other effective strategies in guided reading.

The remaining funds were carried over to be used to purchase new computers for the computer lab.

The current CRA Land Trust Council Members are:
Ruth Hadlock  rhadlock@canyonrimacademy.org
Becky Benham  bbenham@canyonrimacademy.org
Merry Fusselman  mfusselman@canyonrimacademy.org
David Garrett  dgarrett@canyonrimacademy.org
David Havell  dhavell@canyonrimacademy.org
Erik Olson  eolson@canyonrimacademy.org